Gardner-Webb Women’s Tennis Earns No. 5 Seed for Upcoming Big South Tournament -—Official Web Site of Gardner-Webb Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Protect This House Premium Size
Uploaded Ad
Close Button
No. 5 GWU will face off with No. 4 Radford on Thursday in the first round of the 2012 Big South Tournament.
Courtesy: Gardner-Webb
Gardner-Webb Women’s Tennis Earns No. 5 Seed for Upcoming Big South Tournament
Courtesy: Gardner-Webb
          Release: April 16, 2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Share |

Charlotte, N.C. - Gardner-Webb's women's tennis team has been awarded the No. 5 seed in the 2012 Big South Conference Championship, it was announced by the League office. The Runnin' Bulldogs will face the No. 4 seeded Radford Highlanders on Thursday at the Asheville Racquet Club South in Asheville, N.C.

Radford, Gardner-Webb and Liberty finished Conference play with identical 4-4 records. In the tiebreaker procedure, the Highlanders claimed the No. 4 seed, while the Runnin' Bulldogs took the No. 5 seed and the Flames landed the No. 6 spot. 

In their regular season matchup, Gardner-Webb fell in a tight match, losing to Radford by a score of 4-3 at home.

GWU will enter Thursday's match riding a four match winning streak. No. 5 Gardner-Webb vs. No. 4 Radford will begin no earlier than 10:30 a.m. on Thursday.

The 2012 Big South Women's Tennis Championship begins Thursday, April 19 with four matches, and concludes with the Championship game on Saturday, April 21 in Asheville, N.C.  The Big South's tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Women's Tennis Tournament.  The Conference Championship schedule is as follows:

Thursday, April 19 - Asheville, N.C.

Match 1:  No. 1 Winthrop vs. No. 8 UNC Asheville, 8:30am ET

Match 2:  No. 4 Radford vs. No. 5 Gardner-Webb, not before 10:30am ET

Match 3:  No. 2 Charleston Southern vs. No. 7 Campbell, 1:30pm ET

Match 4: No. 3 Coastal Carolina vs. No. 6 Liberty, not before 3:30pm ET

Friday, April 20 (semifinals) - Asheville, N.C.

Match 5:  Match 1 winner vs. Match 2 winner, 10:00am ET

Match 6:  Match 3 winner vs. Match 4 winner, 1:00pm ET

Saturday, April 21 (Finals) - Asheville N.C.

Match 7:  Match 5 winner vs. Match 6 winner, 9:00am ET



Already have a Runnin Bulldog
Media Center account?  Log in here

Bulldog Club Click Here to Join Today!

Generic BulldogStore Ad