Gardner-Webb Receives No. 6 Seed for 2013 Big South Men’s Tennis Championships -—Official Web Site of Gardner-Webb Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Protect This House Premium Size
Uploaded Ad
Close Button
(from left) Adam Knutsson-Sundblad, Matt Parker, and Roman Piftor). Gardner-Webb's men's tennis team faces No. 3 Presbyterian at 3:30 p.m. on Thursday in Rock Hill, S.C.
Courtesy: Saxon Simpson
Gardner-Webb Receives No. 6 Seed for 2013 Big South Men’s Tennis Championships
Courtesy: Gardner-Webb
          Release: April 15, 2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Share |
Charlotte, N.C. – Gardner-Webb finished the season with a 3-5 Big South record and will be seeded sixth for the upcoming Big South Men’s Tennis Championships, it was determined as the Conference season concluded Sunday afternoon.

Gardner-Webb and Liberty each finished Big South competition with 3-5 records, but with the tiebreaker procedure, the Runnin’ Bulldogs earned the No. 6 position and the Flames landed the No. 7 spot.

Earlier this season, GWU swept singles play to defeat Liberty at home, 6-1. The Runnin’ Bulldogs got singles wins from Adam Knutsson-Sundblad, Benjamin Kaszás, Roman Piftor, Ernest Alberch, Nikita Zverkov, and Brendan Dempsey.

Coastal Carolina finished the season with an 8-0 Big South record and was named the Big South Men’s Tennis Regular-Season Champion to receive the No. 1 seed for the Tournament.

Campbell earned the No. 2 seed with a 6-2 Conference mark. Presbyterian College and Winthrop finished Big South play with identical 5-3 records. In the tiebreaker procedure, the Blue Hose claimed the No. 3 spot and the Eagles took the No. 4 seed. Radford’s 4-4 record in League play was good for the No. 5 seed.

UNC Asheville picked up the No. 8 seed as it finished with a 2-6 League record, while new Big South member Longwood rounds out the seeding with its 0-8 record against Conference opponents.

Gardner-Webb plays the fourth game on day two of the Big South Men’s Tennis Championship.

The Big South’s tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Men’s Tennis Tournament. The Conference Championship schedule is as follows:

Wednesday, April 17 - First Round

Match 1: No. 8 UNC Asheville vs. No. 9 Longwood, 1:00pm ET

Thursday, April 18 - Quarterfinals

Match 2: No. 1 Coastal Carolina vs. Winner Match 1, 8:00am ET

Match 3: No. 4 Winthrop vs. No. 5 Radford, not before 10:00am ET

Match 4: No. 2 Campbell vs. No. 7 Liberty, 12:30pm ET

Match 5: No. 3 Presbyterian College vs. No. 6 Gardner-Webb, 3:30pm ET

Friday, April 19 - Semifinals

Match 6: Winner Match 2 vs. Winner Match 3, 10:00am ET

Match 7: Winner Match 4 vs. Winner Match 5, 2:00pm ET

Saturday, April 20 - Championship

Match 8: Winner Match 6 vs. Winner Match 7, 1:30pm ET



Already have a Runnin Bulldog
Media Center account?  Log in here

Bulldog Club Click Here to Join Today!

Generic BulldogStore Ad