Erica White Named Player of the Year, Jenny Lunde Earns All-Conference and All-Academic Honors -—Official Web Site of Gardner-Webb Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Protect This House Premium Size
Uploaded Ad
Close Button
Courtesy: Saxon Simpson
Erica White Named Player of the Year, Jenny Lunde Earns All-Conference and All-Academic Honors
Courtesy: Gardner-Webb
          Release: April 17, 2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Share |

Charlotte, N.C. - Gardner-Webb women's tennis was rewarded for a stellar season at the 2013 Big South Women's Tennis Banquet, as both Erica White and Jenny Lunde received multiple honors, the League announced on Wednesday.

After posting a 18-3 overall singles record (9-1 Big South) at the No. 1 position this season, senior Erica White added "Big South Player of the Year" to her impressive resumé in this her last season as a Runnin' Bulldog.

Additionally, White was announced as the No. 1 singles flight champion after forging an 8-1 No. 1 singles record in Conference play during the 2013 season. White's 8-1 Big South mark was tops among No. 1 singles player this season.

White was also named to the Big South's All-Conference Singles team.

Lunde, a junior from Oslo, Norway, was awarded a spot on the Big South's All-Academic team. The Business Administration major boasts a 3.32 GPA and has earned a spot on the Big South's Presidential Honor Roll in each of her first two seasons as a Runnin' Bulldog.

Lunde and White also earned All-Conference Doubles honors. The duo, having forged a 16-3 record at No. 1 doubles this season, gave the Runnin' Bulldogs outstanding doubles play all season at the top of the lineup.

The doubles honor adds to a decorated season for both Lunde and White. The pair made Gardner-Webb history during the first week of April, receiving a National ITA Doubles ranking (No. 90).


Women’s Tennis Flight Winners
No. 1 singles – Erica White, Gardner-Webb
No. 2 singles – Alice Garcia, Winthrop
No. 3 singles – Giovanna Portioli, Winthrop
Ericka Rivero, UNC Asheville
No. 4 singles – Alexandra Walters, Charleston Southern
No. 5 singles – Alia Nour, Charleston Southern
No. 6 singles – Tijana Uzelac, Winthrop

No. 1 doubles – Yasmine Alkema/Andressa Garcia, Winthrop
No. 2 doubles – Yvonne Hubler/Alexandra Walters, Charleston Southern
No. 3 doubles – Caitlin Cridland/Ekin Gunaysu, Winthrop
Dominique De Wit/Libby Scott, Coastal Carolina

All-Conference Singles
Erica White, Gardner-Webb
Libby Scott, Coastal Carolina
Marketa Placha, Charleston Southern
Alice Garcia, Winthrop
Yvonne Hubler, Charleston Southern
Yasmine Alkema, Winthrop
Andressa Garcia, Winthrop
Zoe Hamel, UNC Asheville
Giovanna Portioli, Winthrop

All-Conference Doubles
Erica White/Jenny Lunde, Gardner-Webb
Yvonne Hubler/Alexandra Walters, Charleston Southern
Alia Nour/Angelica Sidorenko, Charleston Southern
Karolina Chernaya/Tamara Stanic, Campbell

All-Academic Team
Lourdes Ros, Campbell
Zoe Hamel, UNC Asheville
Jenny Lunde, Gardner-Webb
Yvonne Hubler, Charleston Southern
Lindsay Krause, Presbyterian College
Brittany Yang, Liberty
Marta Pinyol, Longwood
Dominique De Wit, Coastal Carolina
Taylor Newman, Radford

Player of the Year
Erica White, Gardner-Webb

Freshman of the Year
Libby Scott, Coastal Carolina

Scholar –Athlete of the Year
Giovanna Portioli, Winthrop

Coach of the Year
Cid Carvalho, Winthrop



Already have a Runnin Bulldog
Media Center account?  Log in here

Bulldog Club Click Here to Join Today!

Generic BulldogStore Ad