Knutsson-Sundblad Named to Singles All-Conference Team to Lead GWU Men's Tennis Postseason Honors -—Official Web Site of Gardner-Webb Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Protect This House Premium Size
Uploaded Ad
Close Button
Adam Knutsson-Sundblad earned All-Conference honors for his stellar singles play at the No. 1 position this year for the Runnin' Bulldogs, and Ernest Alberch (not pictured) landed on the Big South All-Academic Team, it was announced by the League on Wednesday.
Courtesy: Big South Photos
Knutsson-Sundblad Named to Singles All-Conference Team to Lead GWU Men's Tennis Postseason Honors
Courtesy: Gardner-Webb
          Release: April 17, 2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Share |

Charlotte, N.C. - Gardner-Webb men's tennis was rewarded for a stellar season at the 2013 Big South Men's Tennis Banquet, as both Adam Knutsson-Sundblad and Ernest Alberch received postseason honors, the League announced on Wednesday.

After posting a 7-11 overall singles record (3-5 Big South) at the No. 1 position this season, senior Adam Knutsson-Sundblad (Gotenburg, Sweden) earned a spot on the Big South All-Conference team in this his last season as a Runnin' Bulldog.

Wedensday's announcement marks the first Big South Singles All-Conference honor of the senior's career.

Gardner-Webb also saw Ernest Alberch land a spot on the Big South's All-Academic team.

Alberch (Torello, Spain) earned his first career Big South postseason honors after a standout season on and off the court. The sophomore held down the No. 4 singles position all season for the Runnin' Bulldogs, forging a 12-5 overall record (5-2 Big South) while also winning double digit matches in doubles play.

In the classroom, Alberch boasts a 3.83 cumulative GPA with a major in Business Administration. As a freshman, Alberch earned a spot on the Big South Presidential Honor Roll.

Gardner-Webb faces No. 3 Presbyterian tomorrow, April 18, at 3:30 p.m. in the Quarterfinals of the Big South Tournament in Rock Hill, S.C.


Men’s Tennis Flight Winners
No. 1 singles – Stijn Meulemans, Radford
No. 2 singles – Ivar Aramburu, Winthrop
No. 3 singles – Garik Yedigarian, Coastal Carolina
No. 4 singles – Matias Di Pasquale, Coastal Carolina
No. 5 singles – Josep Baro, Campbell
No. 6 singles – Gonzalo Asis, Presbyterian College

No. 1 Doubles – Egon Samaai/Shea Thomas, Liberty
Dylan Comerford/Peter Nagovnak, Winthrop
No. 2 Doubles – Rafael Berghaus/Grayson Mills, Presbyterian College
Leo Christofides/John Karle, Coastal Carolina
No. 3 Doubles – Yusuke Kusuda/Ted Nilsson, Coastal Carolina

All-Conference Singles
Fernando Guillen, Campbell
Adam Knutsson-Sundblad, Gardner-Webb
Stijn Meulemans, Radford
Garik Yedigarian, Coastal Carolina
Adrien Langeard, UNC Asheville
Shea Thomas, Liberty
Yusuke Kusuda, Coastal Carolina
Grayson Mills, Presbyterian College

All-Conference Doubles
Fernando Guillen/Adrien Rossignon, Campbell
Shea Thomas/Egon Samaai, Liberty
Dylan Comerford/Peter Nagovnak, Winthrop
Andrew Brigham/William O’Connell, Presbyterian College

All-Academic Team
Adrien Rossignon, Campbell
Yusuke Kusuda, Coastal Carolina
Ernest Alberch, Gardner-Webb
Jorge Azuero, Liberty
Edward Becker, Longwood
Gonzalo Asis, Presbyterian College
Randall Carter, Radford
John Schubel, UNC Asheville
Dylan Comerford, Winthrop

Player of the Year
Fernando Guillen, Campbell

Freshman of the Year
Ivar Aramburu, Winthrop

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Jorge Azuero, Liberty

Coach of the Year
Chris Powers, Coastal Carolina



Already have a Runnin Bulldog
Media Center account?  Log in here

Bulldog Club Click Here to Join Today!

Generic BulldogStore Ad