- GWUSports.com—Official Web Site of Gardner-Webb Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Protect This House Premium Size
Uploaded Ad
spacer   My Account for spacer

Charlotte, N.C. - The Gardner-Webb men's soccer team had six different student-athletes receive Big South Conference Postseason honors in Jon Ole Reinhardsen, Chris Davis, John Sargent, Jovan Ivanovich, Denzel Clarke and Eric Yeager, announced tonight at the 2011 Big South Men's Soccer Championship Awards Banquet hosted at Gardner-Webb University.

GWU's Reinhardsen earned a spot on the Big South All-Conference First-Team, the lone Runnin' Bulldog to do so.  Reinhardsen, who is the leader of the GWU defense which has posted six shutouts on the season, has been a difference maker on both ends of the field this season for the Runnin' Bulldogs.  While serving as the team captain, Reinhardsen has started and played in every match for GWU this season, totaling two goals on the year, both of which were game-winning goals against Brevard and High Point.  The redshirt-junior defender, who has also accounted for one assist on the year, posted a .421 shots on goal average for the year and was tabbed the Big South Defensive Player of the Week on October 25th.  Reinhardsen, who was named to the UAB-Soccer For a Cure Classic All-Tournament Team in September, was named to the First-Team for the second straight season.

Davis was one of three Runnin' Bulldogs to be named to the All-Conference Second-Team, joining both Sargent and Ivanovich. 

Davis led the Runnin' Bulldogs with five goals and 12 total points on the year from his forward position.  He was also tied for the team lead with two assists on the season and scored the game-winning goal in GWU's 2-1 win at Presbyterian.  Davis, who was a  perfect 1-1 in penalty kicks this season, accounted for a goal in GWU's losses to Wofford and at Campbell and recorded a goal in the 2-0 win over High Point, the Runnin' Bulldogs first-ever win over the Panthers.  The sophomore also scored the equalizer in GWU's 1-1 draw with Georgia Southern and posted an assist in wins over both Brevard and Milwaukee.

Davis, who was named to the All-Freshman Team last season, also earned a spot on the Big South All-Academic Team.

Sargent, who leads the Runnin' Bulldogs with 57 shot attempts on the year, has been a constant for GWU in the midfield all season long, playing in 15 matches and totaling 1,239 minutes of action on the year.  The junior was second on the team with three goals and one assist, totaling seven points on the season. Sargent posted two game-winning goals on the year, with both game winning-goals coming in back-to-back wins over Milwaukee and #20 VCU.  The midfielder, who totaled 15 shots on goal for GWU on the year, was named to the UAB-Soccer For a Cure Classic All-Tournament Team in September.

Ivanovich returned from missing all of last season to play in 15 matches for GWU in the defensive backline this season. A physical defender that has helped lead GWU to eight wins and six shutouts on the season, Ivanovich recorded two assists on the year.  The redshirt-junior tallied an assist in GWU's 1-1 draw with Georgia Southern and an assist in GWU's 2-0 win over High Point, the Runnin' Bulldogs first-ever win over the Panthers.  Ivanovich was also named to the Big South All-Conference Second-Team in 2009.

Clarke made an immediate impact since moving into the starting line up midway through the season, as the freshman played in 12 matches overall.  Clarke was second on the team with eight points and three goals, while he also recorded two assists on the year.  The forward was tied for the team lead with two game-winning goals, posting the game-winning goal in GWU's 3-1 win over Liberty and in the 2-1 road win at VMI.  Clarke scored GWU's lone goal in the 2-1 double-overtime loss at Clemson and recorded an assist in both the 2-1 win over PC and in the 3-1 win over Liberty.

Yeager has played in and started 17 matches for GWU as a true freshman, totaling 1,558 minutes of action this season in the defensive backfield. A key member of the GWU defensive backline that has posted six shutouts and eight wins, recording an assist in GWU's 2-1 win at Presbyterian College.  Yeager posted three shots on the year, putting all three on frame.

The Runnin' Bulldogs, who earned the No.2 seed in this week's Big South Men's Soccer Championship Tournament, will take on the No. 7 seeded Winthrop Eagles on Thursday night at 7:30 p.m. at Greene-Harbison Field on the campus of Gardner-Webb University.


Big South All-Conference Awards


First Team All-Conference

F - Ashton Bennett, Coastal Carolina

F - Darren Amoo, Liberty

F - Iyiola Awosika, Radford

MF - Mitchell Cardenas, Campbell

MF - Luis Faz, Coastal Carolina

MF - Shawn Sloan, High Point

MF - Phillip Aseweh, Liberty

D - Cyprian Hedrick, Coastal Carolina

D - Pedro Ribeiro, Coastal Carolina

D - Jon Ole Reinhardsen, Gardner-Webb

D - Uriah Bentick, Liberty

GK - Scott Angevine, Coastal Carolina

Tied AT Large - Kjartan Sigurdsson, Coastal Carolina

Tied AT Large - Justin Portillo, Coastal Carolina


Second Team All-Conference

F - Chris Davis, Gardner-Webb

F - Karo Okiomah, High Point

F - Bryan Bartels, UNC Asheville

MF - Justin Franz, Campbell

MF - John Sargent, Gardner-Webb

MF - Adam Sewell, High Point

MF - Luis Grande, Radford

D - Travis Golden, Campbell

D - Jovan Ivanovich, Gardner-Webb

D - Fejiro Okiomah, High Point

D - Alex Isern, Winthrop

GK - Lassi Hurskainen, UNC Asheville

AT Large - Aldo Macias, Radford



Ricky Garbanzo, Coastal Carolina

Henrick Robstad, Coastal Carolina

Kjartan Sigurdsson, Coastal Carolina

Denzel Clarke, Gardner-Webb

Eric Yeager, Gardner-Webb

Josh Pacella, Liberty

Scott Sutarik, Liberty

Jonathan Ray, Campbell

Jhuvon Francis, Campbell

Dario Redondo, Radford

Melo Matutu, Winthrop

Grady Tremble, Winthrop


Attacking Player of the Year

Ashton Bennett, F, Coastal Carolina


Freshman of the Year

Kjartan Sigurdsson, D, Coastal Carolina


Defensive Player of the Year

Cyprian Hedrick, D, Coastal Carolina


Coach of the Year

Shaun Docking, Coastal Carolina



Shawn Sloan, High Point

Matt Horn, Winthrop

Bobby Keskey, Presbyterian College

Ryan Taylor, Radford

Phillip Aseweh, Liberty

J.J. Morrow, UNC Asheville

Cyprian Hedrick, Coastal Carolina

Ethan Hall, Campbell

Kyle Farmer, VMI

Chris Davis, Gardner-Webb


Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Shawn Sloan, High Point



Returning Customers
Bulldog Media users or returning customers, please login here.
Login/eMail Address


Forgot your Login?
New Customer
Set up a New Customer account for quick and easy online shopping and/or camp & event registration.

With your account you can easily track and manage your orders, update your information and more.



Already have a Runnin Bulldog
Media Center account?  Log in here

Bulldog Club Click Here to Join Today!

Generic BulldogStore Ad