Collin Thacker, Danny Sullivan Earn 2017 NCCSIA Baseball All-State Honors

Collin Thacker (left) and Danny Sullivan (right)
Collin Thacker (left) and Danny Sullivan (right)

BOILING SPRINGS, N.C. – The senior duo of Collin Thacker and Danny Sullivan were named to the 2017 North Carolina Collegiate Sports Information Association (NCCSIA) All-State University Division Baseball Teams, as announced on Friday afternoon.

Thacker (Wilmington, N.C. / New Hanover HS) was named to the first team, while Sullivan (Denver, N.C. / East Lincoln HS) earned second team honors.

Thacker led Gardner-Webb in 2017 with a .357 batting average, 80 base hits, 15 doubles, and 46 RBI.  Seeing time at first, second, and third base throughout the year, Thacker had a career high fielding percentage of .989, and committed no errors during Big South Conference play.

Sullivan had a record-breaking year for the Runnin' Bulldogs, setting the GWU single-season record for home runs with 17.  That number paced the Big South, and Sullivan also led the league in slugging percentage at .623.  For the season, he batted .317 and also led the team with a .417 on-base percentage. 

Nominations were submitted by North Carolina sports information professionals and voted on by NCCSIA members.

Founded in 2002, the North Carolina Collegiate Sports Information Association (NCCSIA) is comprised of sports information professionals from NCAA Division I, II, III, NAIA and independent institutions from the state of North Carolina. The purpose of the organization is to promote collegiate athletics at all schools. Membership is open to anyone affiliated with a college, university or conference located in North Carolina, and whose area of responsibility lies within sports information.

NCCSIA selects all-state teams in the University (Division I) and College (Division II, III, NAIA) divisions for men's and women's basketball, men's and women's soccer, volleyball, softball and baseball.


2017 North Carolina Collegiate Sports Information Association

All-State University Division Baseball Team


First Team

Pos.     Name                          Cl.        School                         Hometown

C          Ryan Jeffers               So.       UNCW                         Raleigh, N.C.

DH       Nick Feight                 Jr.        UNCW                         Gainesville, Va.

INF      Ryne Ogren                So.       Elon                            Devon, Pa.

INF      Brett Netzer               Jr.        Charlotte                    Tega City, S.C.

INF      Collin Thacker           Sr.        Gardner-Webb          Wilmington, N.C.

INF      Brian Mims                Jr.        UNCW                         Montclair, Va.

OF       Casey Golden             Sr.        UNCW                         Siler City, N.C.

OF       Bryson Bowman        RSr.     Western Carolin        a          Baton, N.C.

OF       T.J. Nichting                Sr.        Charlotte                    Hamilton, Ohio

RP       Cutter Noah Dyals     Jr.        North Carolina A&T  Tampa, Fla.

RP       Matt Brooks               Fr.        Charlotte                    York, Pa.

SP        Alex Royalty               So.       UNCW                         Raleigh, N.C.

SP        Colton Laws               RSo.     Charlotte                    Faith, N.C.


Second Team

Pos.     Name                          Cl.        School                         Hometown

C          Adan Ordonez *         So.       North Carolina A&T  Clermont, Fla.

C          Zack Smith *               Fr.        Charlotte                    Goldsboro, N.C.

DH       Cole Hallum               Sr.        Campbell                    Bakersfield, Cali.

INF      Brett Pope                  Jr.        Western Carolina      Statesville, N.C.

INF      Nobu Suzuki              Sr.        Western Carolina      Tokyo, Japan

INF      Corey Joyce                Fr.        NC Central                 Lexington, N.C.

INF      Carter Williams         Fr.        NC Central                 Brown Summit, N.C.

OF       Kyle Jackson              Sr.        Elon                            Atlanta, Ga.

OF       Matthew Barefoot     Fr.        Campbell                    Dunn, N.C.

OF       Danny Sullivan          Sr.        Gardner-Webb          Denver, N.C.

RP       Clark Cota                  So.       UNCW                         Hampstead, N.C.

RP       Korey Anderson        Sr.        Western Carolina      Grayson, Ga.

SP        Bryan Sammons        Sr.        Western Carolina      Wilmington, N.C.

SP        Kyle Brnovich            Fr.        Elon                            Milton, Ga.



* - Tied after voting