Gardner-Webb's Laquincy Rideau Named To Big South All-Tournament Team

Carlos Morales Photo |
Carlos Morales Photo |

ROCK HILL, S.C. – Gardner-Webb point guard Laquincy Rideau earned a spot on the five-man Big South Conference men's basketball All-Tournament Team, which was announced Sunday at the conclusion of the event.

Rideau (West Palm Beach, Fla. / Ely HS) averaged 19.5 points, 6.5 rebounds, 4.0 assists and 3.0 steals per game as the Runnin' Bulldogs narrowly missed a spot in the championship game.

In the epic, 80-77 overtime loss to eventual champion Winthrop in the semifinals, Rideau made his first six shots en route to a career-high 30 points. He finished 11-of-19 from the floor, pulled down seven rebounds, dished off four assists, had four steals and blocked a layup in 40 minutes.

The 6-foot-1, 204-pounder ran his team's offense with precision in the quarterfinals, delivering a 36-point win over No. 5 seed High point. Rideau dished off four assists and had only one turnover in that game.

He joined tournament MVP Keon Johnson (Winthrop), Chris Clemons (Campbell), Xavier Cooks (Winthrop) and Christian Keeling (Charleston Southern) on the All-Tournament Team. The squad was voted on by media representatives covering the tournament.

Rideau enjoyed a breakout season as expected, leading Gardner-Webb in scoring (14.2 ppg) and pacing the Big South Conference in assists (5.2 apg) and steals (3.0 spg). The sophomore standout made a career-best 39.0 percent from long distance (30-of-77) and added a sturdy 5.7 rebounds per game to his stat line – while also blocking 10 shots.

The league's runner up for Defensive Player of the Year became the first player in Big South Conference history to record at least 150 rebounds (189), 150 assists (171) and 100 steals (100) in a single season.

Rideau's effective play helped power an offense that hummed to the tune of 77.2 points per game.

Gardner-Webb (19-14) won five of its final six games, with that lone loss coming on Thursday night in overtime. Head coach Tim Craft and his staff will return 12 of 13 letterwinners – and four of five starters – for a promising 2017-2018 season.